Reference Group to support the Pacific Pay Gap Inquiry

The Reference Group is convened by the Equal Employment Opportunities (EEO) Commissioner, Saunoamaali’i Dr Karanina Sumeo


The Reference Group will provide advice about the following matters relating the Pacific Pay Gap Inquiry. The aims of the Inquiry; 

  1. Maintaining the core principles of the Inquiry; 
  2. Effective engagement with affected communities, and employers; 
  3. Access to under-engaged Pacific communities; 
  4. Insights as developed from Inquiry activities; 
  5. Recommendations proposed as a result of the Inquiry; 
  6. The risks and opportunities associated with the Inquiry; 
  7. Advice on taking a strengths-based approach



Reference Group Members

The Reference Group consists of six members. The group will convene for the duration of the Inquiry, from April 2021 to April 2022.  They include the following experts: 

  • Lisa Tai – Director and Pas Peau Lead at Deloitte New Zealand   
  • Faitulagi Leilani Tamu – Pacific Director, Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment 
  • Leilani Unasa – Director of Policy, Ministry for Pacific Peoples  
  • Dr Api Talemaitoga – General Practitioner & Fiji community leader  
  • Magele Maria Ului Lelata – NZ Council of Trade Unions 
  • Brett O’Riley – CEO, Employers & Manufacturers Association 
Members of the Reference Group, EEO Commissioner and HRC staff